Jori Hulkkonen Presents Nuclear Winter Garden

Jori Hulkkonen has written a self-titled album under the alias Nuclear Winter Garden. 

That's also the name of a long-running outdoor party organized by the polymath Finnish artist, which happens in his hometown of Kemi at a museum that dates all the way back to the 14th century. He uses those events as a chance to explore his tastes beyond just club music, touching on jazz, folk, classical and experimental sounds. He's used the name to explore similar impulses on Nuclear Winter Garden, which the press release compares to artists like John Maus and Connan Mockasin. The album will come via Toronto label My Favorite Robot Records, which has put out records from Hulkonnen under his Third Culture alias in the past. 

"The idea is to find a personal edge for the output, rather than paving the way for accessibility," Hulkonnen says. "What’s missing from a lot of people’s music these days is the risk taking. And I like taking risks.” 


01. Quitting The Game 
02. Some Of You Might Survive 
03. A New Cold War 
04. Strangest Positions 
05. Baryonic Truth 
06. Red Magic 
07. If I Was Your Doctor 
08. Infinite Man 

My Favorite Robot Records will release Nuclear Winter Garden on March 2nd, 2015.

Bron: Resident Advisor

Back to New Artist Overview